support groups

Find the support you need to suceed in your recovery.

*Due to Covid some groups may not be meeting or may be meeting virtually. Please reach out to the mentioned contact for more information.

Brain Injury Services of Southwest Virginia Led Groups

Salem/Roanoke Area Brain Injury Support Group

Meeting for caregivers and survivors.

Lewis Gale Hospital Education Center
Rehab Conference Room
1900 Electric Rd.
Salem, VA 24153

First Thursday of each month
12 p.m.

Contact

Bridget Melvin-Adams
540-344-1200


Franklin County Area Support Group

The Franklin Center
50 Claiborne Ave.
Rocky Mount, VA 24151

Third Wednesday of each month
12 – 1 p.m.

Contact

Mae Maus
maem@bisswva.org


Galax Area Support Group

Galax Public Library
West Stuart Drive
Galax, VA

Second Thursday of each month
2-3 p.m.

Contact

Holllye Moser
hollye@bisswva.org


Wise- Southwest Support Group

To Be Determined

Contact

Brittany Church
brittany@bisswa.org


Additional Brain Injury Support Groups throughout the state

Head strong brain injury support group in Roanoke

Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital
101 Elm Ave.
Room 842
Roanoke, VA 24013

Third Wednesday of each month
6-7 p.m.

Contact

HeadStrongROA@gmail.com


Carilion stroke support group in Roanoke

Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital
101 Elm Ave.
Room 838
Roanoke, VA 24013

Third Wednesday of each month
12-2 p.m.

Contact

Kelly Hannon Barge
khbarge@carilionclinic.org


Statewide virtual brain injury support group

For survivors and family

Fourth Tuesday of each month
6 p.m.

Contact

Christine Baggini
christine@biav.net
804-355-5748


Statewide virtual caregiver support group

First Wednesday of each month
6 p.m.

Contact

Debra
debra@biav.net
804-355-5748


GREATER BRISTOL AREA STROKE SUPPORT GROUP

American Senior Living
826 Meadow View Road
Bristol, TN

First Thursday of each month
6-7 p.m.

Contact

Jamie Johnson
Jamie.johnson2@balladhealth.org
423-844-3481


Lynchburg-Central Virginia Support Group

Mostly online though some in-person events
Please contact for specifics

Contact

Yvonne Staton
Yvonne.Staton@Centrahealth.com
434-200-4668


Synapse at Virginia Tech's Brain Injury Support

1455 Perry St.
New Classroom Building
Virginia Tech Campus

Currently not meeting though hopes to in 2023

Contact

Sarah Choi
sarahc01@vt.edu